Who is Northumberland CVA?

Northumberland Community Voluntary Action (Northumberland CVA) is the operating name of Wansbeck Centre for Voluntary Service (Wansbeck CVS).

Established in 1987 to provide information, advice, training and support to volunteers and local voluntary and community groups , Wansbeck CVS has operated primarily in South East Northumberland, delivering a number of services to the voluntary and community sector in the old local authority district of Wansbeck.  Although we have always carried out some work in other parts of the county, securing the Northumberland County Council commission in 2014 to deliver support services to the voluntary and community sector throughout Northumberland until 2017 prompted the trustees to take the decision to change our operating name to better reflect the greater reach of our service delivery. 

We believe our new operating name of Northumberland Community Voluntary Action (Northumberland CVA) reflects the broad range of services we are providing to the voluntary and community sector throughout Northumberland in promoting the value and needs of the voluntary and community sector and helping to encourage and develop networks and partnerships between the voluntary and community sector and others.

We deliver a range of both generic and specialist services, offering information, support and advice to voluntary and community groups throughout Northumberland.  Our services include group development, funding advice, support for volunteer-involving organisations, training, as well as payroll and accountancy services.  

Legal Status

Northumberland CVA operates under the umbrella of Wansbeck CVS, which is a registered charity (no1119404.) and a Company Limited by Guarantee (registration no5980151.). The company is governed by a Memorandum & Articles of Association and is run by paid staff under the management of volunteers who are both directors of the company and trustees of the charity.

Staff Team

We have a dedicated team of staff members, listed below

Senior Staff

Anne Lyall - Chief Executive Officer

Finance and Administration Team

Joanne Ellis - Administrator

Rachel Lewis - Finance Officer

Service Delivery Team

Marc Johnson - Development Officer - Funding

Jackie Auld - Information & Communication Officer

Ann Atkinson - Assembly Development Officer

Karen Cox - Re:Action Project Coordinator

Lisa Wackett - Project Coordinator

Leanne Brown - Project Coordinator

Clair Parker - Project Support Worker


Rodney James - Chair

Joe Jackson - Vice Chair

Mary Hindhaugh

Paul Lawrence

Valerie Tyler

Sue Ashmore

       Carla Thompson 

       Colin Nevin